In which the Embarrassed Language Learner asks for help

Yay, I posted about study habits when I’m severely depressed, after having that half-drafted for weeks and then… being too depressed to finish it!

But here’s something else I want to say. It makes me feel embarrassed and arrogant, but I’m going to take a deep breath and try to push away the shame and say it anyway. I’ve been lucky so far, for the tender age of this blog, to already have a lovely group of readers, some of whom have left really supportive comments. I’d like to ask you all, if you know of anyone who’d be interested in my blog, especially if they could relate to it, to please send them the link!

Yes, I realize this just looks like naked groveling for attention/blog hits, and maybe someone will castigate me for that. But there are two reasons I’m asking. Firstly: one of the most terrible things for me, when depressed, is to feel alone. Physically, yes, but also emotionally, and also in terms of feeling like I am broken or limited or just wrong in ways that nobody else is. So knowing that there are other language-learners out there who maybe struggle with the same things I do would be helpful.

And something else that I find agonizing (to the point that this alone can plunge me into a fit of suicidal ideation) is the idea that I’m, well… useless. That I have nothing to contribute, that there is nothing meaningful in my life or that I can add to the world. When I am in a really bad depressive state (as I have been lately), I feel guilty for all the effort my friends put in to support me and try to help me through. It makes me feel like a net drain, because mostly I can’t do anything except try to hold myself together. So — and believe me, all this is excruciating to say out loud — to know that this blog is useful to someone would be a tiny tiny bulwark against feeling that way.

Thanks, everyone. For reading, and maybe commenting, and maybe pointing other people here. I’m going to post this and run for the hills, red-faced, now.

7 comments

  1. I’ve never lived with depression (although someone very dear to me does), but I do have problems with anxiety. I’ve shared one of the first posts that I read from you on my Facebook page. That said, I don’t have much of a following, so I’m not sure how many people will read it. If you’d like to connect with me via email, Facebook, twitter or through my blog, please do! I find your blog very interesting and I think that it’s important to show language learning through a different lens.

    Like

    1. Thank you Stephanie! I’m sorry you know what living with anxiety is like too.

      I’ve finally started a Twitter account for this blog — the username is compassionlang (darn username length limits!) and I’ve just followed you. ๐Ÿ™‚ That list of conversation exchange topics is fabulous!

      Like

  2. Dear …! The place where you are right now is not where you have to be! You are not meant to be in such a condition as depression! How do I know? Because I have been where are you and even lower then you , perhaps, but when you are coming out on another side you are thinking why you spend so much time in being there?
    Depression is curable! Choose life!
    For any questions if you need any time, please visit my blog and go to Roadside Assistance page!

    Like

  3. I recently found out about this blog, and I think you are amazing for doing it. I learn languages, I have moments where I’m depressed and struggling, and it’s really reassuring to know that I’m not alone with this. As another commenter said on this thread, it is really good to see language learning through a different lens. So good on you, and keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

